Sak Yant Tattoo – Gao Yord – Nine Peaks

Late post about a trip in January 2018 I had for the first World Thai Boxing Association Camp in Thailand, Ajarn Chai helped arrange for us to visit many places and even get a sak yant, a tattoo traditionally administered without a tattoo gun.During my trip for the first World Thai Boxing Association Camp in Thailand, Ajarn Chai helped arrange for us to visit many places and even get a sak yant, a tattoo traditionally administered without a tattoo gun.

It was originally going to be below my neck on the shoulder line, but my current tattoos didn’t leave any room there. Ajarn Oh, the man giving me the tattoo, selected a spot on my right arm and began.

The whole thing took about 10 minutes (which he freehanded) including the prayer at the end. A very meaningful experience for sure. Below is a copy/paste from detailing what the Gao Yord is.

The Gao Yord is the “Yant Kru” or Master Yant and is a most sacred Buddhist tattoo with very wide ranging powers of protection and is quite possibly the most important of all the available Sak Yant designs. Many people will choose the Gao Yord as their first Sak Yant because of its universal powers and later add other Sak Yant designs of their choice.

The basic design of the Gao Yord represents the nine peaks of the mythical mountain of the Gods, Mount Meru. According to Hindu mythology, Mount Meru is the abode of the Lord Brahma as well as other Deities. In Buddhist mythology, Mount Meru is known as Sumeru.

The set of 3 ovals are a representation of the Lord Buddha and this grouping of 3 ovals can be seen in many other Sak Yant designs. The Gao Yord Yant has 9 Buddhas represented, with each Buddha bestowing special powers or spells. In some versions of the Gao Yord, there is a Mantra or Katha tattooed at the base of the design. The script used is Khom, an ancient Khmer script, and gives the abbreviation for the names of these nine Buddhas as follows;

A, Sang, Wi, Su, Loe, Pu, Sa, Pu, Pa

In the centre of the Gao Yord design is a patchwork of small squares, the magic box, (although in some designs the outlines are not shown but only the contents), each square containing an abbreviation (in Khom) for the names of all the protection spells that this Yant will bestow. The exact number of these small squares can vary according to the design but the powers granted to the wearer will always include the following.

  • Maeta Ma Hah Niyom: With this blessing you will be treated by others with great loving kindness and compassion which will improve your popularity and help you to gain preferential treatment.
  • Klaeoklad: This benefit ensures that the wearer will not suffer serious injury.
  • Chana Satru: The ability to defeat the enemy.
  • Ma Hah Amnat: This will give the wearer great power, authority and control over other people.
  • Awk Seuk: A willingness to go to war or to fight battles for those who have your loyalty and the desire to fight for what is right.
  • Kong Kra Phan: This will provide Magical protection and invincibility.
  • Oopatae: This will ensure that in whatever enterprise or business activities the wearer is involved in they will have the ability to do the work correctly and ensures that everything will run smoothly.
  • Ma Hah Saneh: This will give you charm and increase your popularity and attractiveness with the opposite sex.
  • Ma Hah Lap: This will bring great good fortune and luck.
  • Noon Chataa : This benefit will improve your destiny, fate
  • Pong Gan Antarai : This will give protection against accidents including natural disasters as well as giving protection against acts of violence.
  • Nah Tee Gan Ngan Dee : This benefit will help you to improve your circumstances at work

In addition The Sak Yant Gao Yord will protect the wearer against evil spirits and all forms of “Black Magic”.

Compassion in Martial Arts?

The Life Coach vs Performance Coach Is there a difference? Simply stated: One helps with human behavior, one helps with high performance. If you haven’t

Listen »